jump to navigation

The Devil Wears Prada March 8, 2009

Posted by KJ theBookGirl in book, books, KJ, read, recommendation, review, theBookGirl.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Hello,

I have finally decided to read something not Twilight related for the first time since Christmas (after reading the series three times in a row, only stopping for half a day in order to read Double Cross, the latest in Noughts and Crosses, it really is time to remind myself of the other books out there), and the lucky book is A Devil Wears Prada. 
I have seen the film of this book many, many, many times, but I have always felt absolutly awful for not reading the book, as it goes against my rigid law of never seeing a film before reading the book, as the book is ALWAYS better. Now, I have finally got round to buying the book, so I’m pretty excited to see how it fares in comparison to the film.
After about twenty minutes of being sucked in I’ve finished two chapters (look at me go!) and I’m already being drawn back to it, despite my need to do my GCSE coursework (and therefore letting myself get distracted by telling you all about this).
So, here’s the basic plot, as written on the blurb:

 High fashion, low cunning – and the boss from hell
When Andrea first sets foot in the plush Manhattan offices of Runway she knows nothing. She’s never heard of the world’s most fashionable magazine, or its feared and fawned-over editor, Miranda Preistly.
Soon she knows way too much.
She knows it’s a sacking offence to wear less than a three inch heel to work – but there’s always a fresh pair of Manolos in the accessories cupboard.
She knows eight stone is fat. That you can charge anything – cars, manicures, clothes, to the Runway account, but you must never leave your desk, or let Miranda’s coffee get cold. That at 3am, when your boyfriend’s dumping you because you’re always working and your best friend’s just been arrested, if Miranda phones with her latest unreasonable demand, you jump.
Most of all, Andrea knows that Miranda is a monster boss who makes Cruella de Vil look like a fluffy bunny. But this is her big break, and it’s all going to be worth it in the end.
Isn’t it?
Now, too me, this blurb is pretty good and makes me want to start reading right away. The only problem I can see in it is it might give a little bit too much away, but having seen the movie, I know the general plot anyway…
KJ 
theBookGirl

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

